Out & About

Explore Retford, Doncaster, Bawtry, Lincoln, Newark and hunt for Robin Hood...


Barnby Moor is quite literally just off the A1 at the tip of North Nottinghamshire with Yorkshire, Derbyshire and Lincolnshire either side - so plenty to explore.  Surrounded by the Dukeries, estates of five previous Dukes, with Sherwood Forest, Rufford, Thoresby, Welbeck and the 4,000 acre National Trust Clumber Park on our doorstep.  The origins of the Pilgrim Fathers at nearby Scrooby and former 12th century monasteries Rufford & Newstead Abbeys, Southwell Minster, Lincoln Cathedral and the magnificent Chatsworth House are all within striking distance.

There’s a wealth of attractions on the doorstep; choose to ramble through Robin Hood’s Sherwood Forest or Rufford Abbey Country Park, visit Yorkshire's very own Wildlife Park, cycle through the National Trust’s Clumber Park or visit the magnificent estate at Welbeck Abbey for inspiring art, award-winning food and shopping.

Slightly further afield there’s historic Lincoln, with it’s wonderful cathedral and recently restored castle, Chatsworth House, with its stunning gardens and legendary art collection, Doncaster with famous horse races like the St Leger, as well as a host of fascinating museums, sporting activities and family attractions.

There's theatres, cinemas, art galleries and some top concerts to make the focus of your visit.  Farm shops, parks and gardens galore with the renowned Hodsock Priory Snowdrops a highlight of the winter calendar just five minutes down the road.  Interesting courses from butchery to bakery at the Welbeck School of Artisan Food with a chocolatier, cheesemaker and brewery on the estate.

Explore Retford Hotel

Historical Sites

Historic                  
Brodsworth Hall and Gardens  
Changing fortunes of a wealthy Victorian family.
www.english-heritage.org.uk
Chatsworth House
Home to the Duke and Duchess of Devonshire.
www.chatsworth.org
Conisbrough Castle
12th-century with the only cylindrical keep in England.
www.english-heritage.org.uk
Hardwick Hall
One of Britain's greatest and most complete Elizabethan houses.
www.nationaltrust.org.uk
Lincoln Cathedral
Stunning cathedral on hilltop near the Castle.
www.lincolncathedral.com
Mattersey Priory                                         
Monastery for just six Gilbertine canons.
www.english-heritage.org.uk
Newark Castle
Medieval castle with dungeons
www.newark-sherwooddc.gov.uk
Newark Town Hall Museum
Civil war siege, civic treasures & art collections
www.newarktownhallmuseum.co.uk
Newstead Abbey
Augustinian priory and ancestral home of Lord Byron
www.newsteadabbey.org.uk
Papplewick Pumping Station              
Ornate Victorian Architecture with two unique Watts Rotative Beam Engines.
www.papplewickpumpingstation.org.uk
Pilgrim Fathers
The origins of the Pilgrim Fathers on the Mayflower Trail at Scrooby
www.pilgrimfathersorigins.org
 
Roche Abbey
Cistercian abbey in valley landscaped by 'Capability' Brown.
www.english-heritage.org.uk
Rufford Abbey
Best-preserved remains of a Cistercian abbey west cloister in England.
www.english-heritage.org.uk
Southwell Minster       
Norman minster dating back to 1108.
www.southwellminster.org
Southwell Workhouse     
The best-preserved workhouse in England.
www.nationaltrust.org.uk
Mr Straw's House
A 1920s house captured in time
www.nationaltrust.org.uk
Welbeck Abbey Estate
A splendid historic estate and hidden gem
www.welbeck.co.uk

Outdoor & Family

Spectator Sports  
Doncaster Racecourse www.doncaster-racecourse.co.uk
Southwell Racecourse www.southwell-racecourse.co.uk
Doncaster Keepmoat Stadium www.keepmoatstadium.com
Test Match Cricket www.trentbridge.co.uk

Outdoor Pursuits                 

 

Snozone Real Snow Slope www.xscape.co.uk
Lindrick Golf Club www.lindrickgolfclub.co.uk
Rufford Park Golf and Country Club www.ruffordpark.co.uk
Retford Golf Club www.retfordgolfclub.org
Worksop Golf Club www.worksopgolfclub.com
Serlby Park Golf Club www.serlbypark.co.uk
Go-Karting near Sherwood Forest www.amencornerkarting.co.uk
Go-Karting at Newark www.elkmotorsport.co.uk
Adrenalin Jungle www.adrenalinjungle.com
Bawtry Paintball and Laser Fields www.bawtrypaintballfields.co.uk
Go Ape! at Sherwood www.goape.co.uk
Blyth Activity Centre www.thetournamentground.co.uk

Youngsters
 
Sundown Adventureland www.sundownadventureland.co.uk
Yorkshire Wildlife Park www.yorkshirewildlifepark.com
White Post Farm Centre www.whitepostfarmcentre.co.uk

Arts, Shopping and Gardens

Arts & Culture                 
Welbeck School of Artisan Food www.schoolofartisanfood.org
Harley Gallery www.harleygallery.co.uk
Thoresby Gallery www.whatsonatthoresby.co.uk
Bassetlaw Museum www.bassetlawmuseum.org.uk
Retford Little Theatre www.rlt.org.uk
Retford Majestic Theatre www.majesticretford.com
Doncaster Cast Theatre www.castindoncaster.com
Doncaster Little Theatre www.doncasterlittletheatre.co.uk
Doncaster Dome www.the-dome.co.uk
Vulcan Air Museum Robin Hood Airport www.vulcantothesky.org
Newark Air Museum www.newarkairmuseum.org
Northern Racing College www.northernracingcollege.co.uk
Hemswell Antiques Centre www.hemswell-antiques.com

Parks and Gardens
               
Sherwood Forest & Nature Reserve www.sherwoodforest.org.uk
Clumber Park www.nationaltrust.org.uk
Rufford Country Park www.nottinghamshire.gov.uk
Hodsock Priory Gardens www.snowdrops.co.uk
Relax, Unwind & Recharge

Spa & Stay

Available from £135 per person (available by phone only 01777705121) or click here for our online spa and stay packages.